Celebrating the very best in UK groundsmanship

More than 600 of the UK’s and Europe’s leading groundscare experts from both the professional and volunteer sector, as well as dignitaries from the governing bodies of sport and influential sports administrators, have honoured the expertise, dedication and passion of the grounds profession at the Institute of Groundsmanship (IOG) annual Industry Awards.

This year’s sell-out event hosted by BBC TV presenter Dan Walker at The Vox, located in Resorts World at the Birmingham NEC recognised leadership, innovation and outstanding achievement across every aspect of groundscare – from grassroots pitches to professional stadia.

The prestigious awards ceremony also celebrated the quality standards of groundscare achieved in public and private sports venues, and highlighted the progress of young/student grounds professionals as well as entrants’ environmental considerations.

The winners of the 2019 IOG Industry Awards are:

IOG Toro Most Promising Sports Turf Student of the Year

Callum Allsop, Leicester City FC

IOG Rigby Taylor/Top Green Young Grounds Person of the Year

Nick Pepper, Gloucestershire CCC

IOG Volunteer Sports Grounds Team/Individual of the Year

Andy Cambridge, Foxton FC, Cambridgeshire

IOG National Governing Bodies’ Community Sector Sports Club Grounds Team/Individual of the Year

Harborough Town FC, Leicestershire

The National Governing Bodies of sport (NGBs) award is co-sponsored by the AELTC (All England Lawn Tennis Club), ECB (the England and Wales Cricket Board), The FA (Football Association), the LTA (Lawn Tennis Association), the Premier League, the RFL (Rugby Football League), RFU (Rugby Football Union) and Sport England

IOG AMS Robotics Public Sector Sports Grounds Team of the Year

Prestige Grounds Ltd, Wiltshire

IOG Bowling Grounds Team/Individual of the Year

Polly Bowls Club, Sutton-in-Ashfield, Nottinghamshire

IOG SCH Supplies Best Managed Artificial Sports Surface of the Year

University of Warwick

IOG Ransomes Environmental/Ecology Project of the Year

City Football Academy, Manchester

IOG Headland Amenity Professional Cricket Grounds Team of the Year

Sussex CCC

IOG CubCadet INFINICUT Professional Tennis Courts Grounds Team of the Year

Devonshire Park, Eastbourne

IOG John Deere Professional Horse Racing Grounds Team of the Year

Warwick Racecourse

IOG Professional Rugby Football League Grounds Team of the Year

Castleford Tigers RLFC, West Yorkshire

IOG Compo Expert Professional Rugby Football Union Grounds Team of the Year

Northampton Saints RFC

IOG Professional Football Grounds Team of the Year

(English Leagues 1 & 2, National League, National League North/South, Scottish Championship & Leagues 1 & 2, Ireland & Wales Professional Leagues)

Swindon Town FC

IOG SGL Professional Football Grounds Team or the Year (Premier League, Championship and Scottish Premier League)

Tottenham Hotspur FC

IOG Redexim Charterhouse/Kubota University/College Grounds Team of the Year

Nottingham University

IOG Growth Products Independent School Grounds Team of the Year

Merchiston Castle School, Edinburgh

IOG SISGrass International Award

Dean Gilasbey, ProPitch

IOG Ransomes/DLF Johnsons Alex R Millar Groundsperson Award – chosen from the outstanding winner across all award categories

Danny Negus, Devonshire Park, Eastbourne

IOG GrassMaster Solutions Outstanding Achievement Awards

Keith Kent, former head groundsman at RFU Twickenham and Chris Wood England and Wales Cricket Board pitch inspector.

Commenting, IOG chief executive Geoff Webb, says: “We’ve enjoyed a glorious year of professional sport, especially a summer of outstanding cricket, and this has highlighted the crucial role played by high-class playing surfaces – and, therefore, also our superb groundscare skills.

“Our awards, however, also acknowledge the unstinting work of the army of volunteers who maintain grassroots pitches up and down the country, often on very limited budgets, to enable players of all abilities and ages to enjoy sport on well-prepared pitches.

“Yet again we have seen how fantastic our profession is, and I applaud everyone and thank them for their efforts in creating playing surfaces that are the envy of the world.”

The 2019 IOG Industry Awards are sponsored by the AELTC (All England Lawn Tennis Club), AMS Robotics, Compo Expert, Cub Cadet, DLF, ECB (the England and Wales Cricket Board), The FA (Football Association), Grassmaster, Growth Products, John Deere, Kubota, the LTA (Lawn Tennis Association), the Premier League, Ransomes, Redexim Charterhouse, Rigby Taylor, the RFU (Rugby Football Union), the RFL (Rugby Football League), SCH Supplies, SGL Lighting, SISGrass, Top Green and Toro.

Featured News

Festive support available from Perennial this Christmas

Perennial, the charity for people in horticulture across the UK,...
...Read More

Government launches new scheme to boost tree-planting

The government has launched a £50 million scheme to help boost...
...Read More

United Kingdom


Latest Products

Graden CSI -

By Charterhouse Turf Machinery Ltd

The Graden range of verticutters are renowned for...

Rink DS800 Topdresser -

By Charterhouse Turf Machinery Ltd

The Redexim Rink range available from Charterhouse...

Double Disc Overseeder 1430 -

By Charterhouse Turf Machinery Ltd

Within the Charterhouse portfolio is a broad range...



By Mark Harrod Ltd

Vertidrain 7316 -

By Charterhouse Turf Machinery Ltd

Rinkds -

By Charterhouse Turf Machinery Ltd