GMA announces Industry Awards Finalists for 2023

The GMA Industry Awards celebrate excellence within the grounds industry.

Highlighting talent within the sector, the prestigious awards ceremony recognises the contribution made by grounds staff across the country.

The event, which will be held at Headingley Stadium on Wednesday 29th November, will be hosted by award-winning sports broadcaster, Hayley McQueen, and will give grounds teams the opportunity to celebrate their vital role in making sport possible.

Young Groundsperson of the Year (Sponsored by Origin Amenity Solutions)
Brad Jeffries - Lincoln City Football Club
Bethany Gibbs - Wellington School

Newcomer of the Year
Louis Macklin - Ibstock Place
Meg Lay - Gloucestershire CCC
Bethany Gibbs - Wellington School

Volunteer Groundsperson or Team of the Year
Clapton Community Football Club
Tom Banks - Kirkoswald Football Club

Community Groundsperson or Team of the Year
Yeovil Recreation Centre
Stanley Park Sports Ground

Environmental and Sustainability Impact (Sponsored by Syngenta)
Yeovil Recreation Centre
Leicester City Football Club

Bowls/Croquet Groundsperson or Team of the Year
The Hurlingham Club
Wantage Bowls Club

Best Managed Artificial Surface of the Year
Yeovil Recreation Centre
University of Warwick

Professional Cricket Grounds Team of the Year
Marylebone CC
Warwickshire CCC

Professional Tennis Courts Grounds Team of the Year (Sponsored by Infinicut)
Queens Club
Devonshire Park

Professional Horse Racing Grounds Team of the Year
Lingfield Park Racecourse
York Racecourse

Professional RFL Grounds Team of the Year (Sponsored by Agronomic Services LTD)
Castleford Tigers
Leeds Rhinos

Professional RFU Grounds Team of the Year
Harlequins F.C
Bath Rugby

Professional Football Grounds Team of the Year
Derby County Football Club
Wigan Athletic Football Club
Stockport County Football Club

Professional Football Grounds Team of the Year (Elite) (Sponsored by SGL)
Leicester City Football Club
Liverpool Football Club

University & College Grounds Team of the Year
University of Leicester
Loughborough University

Independent School Grounds Team of the Year (Sponsored by Platinum Sponsor ISEKI UK & IRELAND)
Aldenham Foundation
Eton College

As well as the above categories, there will be a special award presented to GMA Grounds Manager of The Year (sponsored by DLF Seeds).

Jason Booth, Chief Operating Officer of Grounds Management Association said: “It is always such a pleasure to see the number of teams and individuals that take the time to submit applications for the GMA Industry Awards. This year, the standard of submissions has been remarkably high, and we’re delighted to have seen a raft of new entrants across the categories.

“With only two months to go until we meet at Headingley Stadium, I’d like to extend my thanks to everyone who put forward an application demonstrating their talent within the sector as well as extending those thanks to our independent judging panel who volunteered their time to carefully deliberate over every submission.”

Find out more about the Industry Award sponsors here:

Tickets to attend the awards ceremony at Headingley Stadium on Wednesday 29 November are now on sale at

Featured News

The GMA launches industry survey

The Grounds Management Association (GMA), in partnership with the...
...Read More

Introducing Machinery Nation LIVE: a thrilling new feature at GroundsFest 2024

Get ready for an exhilarating new addition to GroundsFest 2024:...
...Read More


Latest Products

Aspen 4 -

By Aspen

Aspen 4 is alkylate petrol without oil –...

Aspen 2 -

By Aspen

Aspen 2 is alkylate petrol premixed at 50:1 with a...

Arborist 150 -

By GreenMech

The popular Arborist 150 is a simple-to-use and...


WRT Video Winton FTS -

By Farm Tech Supplies Ltd

Introducing the Foamstream L12 -

By Weeding Technologies

Movember x Turf Tank - 2022 -

By Turf Tank